Thanks to Buddha, and to You

Yesterday was Buddha’s birthday.  I hope he liked my present.  (I bought him nothing.)

Buddha said that life was dukkha.  Although the word is usually translated as “suffering,” it’s actually much richer than that, as it includes unsatisfactoriness, dissatisfaction, disappointment, weltschmertz, angst, disgust, annoyance, loneliness, peevishness, melancholy, lugubrium, revulsion, pessimism, dashed hopes, misery, suicidal peevishness, regret, an attack of the coulda shoulda wouldas, “the thousand natural shocks that flesh is heir to,” and much, much more.

Says it all, doesn’t it?

Luckily, life isn’t only that.  As the Chinese proverb says, “Life contains ten thousand joys as well as ten thousand sorrows.”  (Collect the set!)

That’s why the Sisyphean struggle must continue, whether in the form of evolution or giving yourself an early morning pep talk while you’re brushing your teeth.  The mountain may get bigger, the boulder heavier, Sisyphus himself older and weaker, but the spirit inside the pusher must resist the urge to lie down and die or else risk being flattened by the weight of it all.

Thanatos, the death instinct, must be balanced with eros, the lust for life.

Sadly, I don’t have much time to write this morning as I’ve got to go back and do that crazy little thing called work.

But I’d like to take a moment to thank you, the reader, for taking the time to acknowledge this blog.  I’m sorry if I don’t reciprocate as often as I should.  It’s inexcusable and narcissistic.  (But if you’ll allow one lame excuse, my wife and I share the same computer, and she has to take it with it to work three days a week, leaving me high and dry as a kite in the desert.)

Thanks in particular to Menomama, Prasun, Chess, Charlotte Carendar, Ben of the Bitter Blog, Snarky Snatch, Deanna, and I Tried to Tell You, whose poetry deserves a wider audience.  You’re all outstanding bloggers and I appreciate your company in the blogosphere.  As corny as it sounds, I feel as if we’re building a community together.  As a stranger living in a very strange land, I sometimes get lonely, but it’s nice to know that we all have a home out here in cyberspace, even as our own planet is being destroyed underfoot while we wait.

Take care, and have a great day.

(Sorry, but I ain’t even got any time to proofread this puppy.  Save the typos as souvenirs.)

2 thoughts on “Thanks to Buddha, and to You

  1. I will visit each of the bloggers you mention. Just read the last post offered by “I Tried to Tell You”. This has left me speechless:
    “It seems like every love scene
    begins with a woman in the doorway.
    That’s never what I wanted
    with you;
    I wanted to be the doorway,
    the trapdoor that you would fall through.
    The pair of hands
    to open you
    like a moonflower.
    To whisper inside of you
    like an echo
    I am, I am, I am.”
    Fuck. Makes me want to toss my pen away and just read.

  2. I know what you mean. She’s an incredibly talented young woman. I hope she gets back into blogging, as she hasn’t added anything to her blog for a long time. Then again, you’re an excellent writer too, Susanne. I have the same problem of comparing myself to other writers and feeling I come up short (for example, these days I envy Mark Peters for being so funny and pithy). We’ve just got to find a way to make our envy motivate us to write more, eh? Thanks, as always, for taking the time to write a comment. You’re probably the only blogger I have any kind of sustained dialogue with, and it means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

