Peace of Mind

Flooded with futility,

I have an inability

to call to arms tranquility.

For what it’s worth,

a learned dearth

of humility

hamstrings my agility.

 

This propensity

for iniquity–

a self-induced delinquency–

infects the whole community,

afflicting our society.

 

But this capacity for anomie

is hardly something new to me.

I’ve spent my life in solitary,

like all the apples on this tree.

 

And when I fall off–finally–

I will be grounded permanently,

trading life for harmony.

Leave a Reply

